Saturday, September 24, 2011

A Pile of Dirty Snow at the Edge of a Parking Lot in Michigan in the Dead of Winter: A Fall Mix, 2011

[UPDATE: I recently discovered that the version of "Jason" on the mix I uploaded cuts off four minutes too early. No idea how it happened. If you've already uploaded the mix, you can simply download the correct version of that one track here. Delete the existing "Jason," and you should be good to go. If you haven't downloaded the mix yet, you can do so below. I have corrected the file.]

I pieced this mix together on Wednesday using the "on-the-go" playlists on my old fifth-generation iPod at my favorite cafe while reading about Catholic missions into rural Europe in the early modern period.

It's my least intended, least planned mix. I haven't changed a thing since leaving the cafe.

I gave no consideration to you, fine readers and listeners. Because I think of music as communal rather than individual, I generally try to make mixes that are fairly accessible. This one is probably more difficult than any of my previous mixes.

It's a quintessential headphone mix. There's nothing wrong, of course, with listening to it on a nice set of speakers or, for that matter, a crappy set. At the moment I'm playing it through my awful MacBook speakers. But I recommend finding an opportunity to listen on a set of good headphones. There are, I think, lots of little remarkable details in many of these songs and in a couple of the transitions.*

*I am aware that this paragraph makes me sound like a tool. Possibly the whole write-up sounds that way.

I don't have anything else to say except that I already feel very strongly about this mix. Give it a few listens. I hope you like it.


Ensure your track list is correct:
1. "Sweet Love for Planet Earth" by Fuck Buttons
2. "The Purple Bottle" by Animal Collective
3. "Only Shallow" by My Bloody Valentine
4. "Jason" by Sufjan Stevens
5. "BMB" by DM Stith
6. "BTSTU (Edit)" by Jai Paul
7. "Fangala" by Here We Go Magic
8. "Nothing'severgonnastandinmyway (Again)" by Wilco
9. "Good News for the Pus Pickers" by Danielson
10. "Darkest Hour" by Megafaun
11. "The Wilhelm Scream" by James Blake
12. "Forest Families" by The Knife